Subscribe to our Youtube channel

Francis Bebey – Africa Sanza 80s CAMEROON Folk Music ALBUM




Francis Bebey ‎– Africa Sanza Album Lp

Label: Ozileka ‎– OZIL 3312
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: France
Released: 1982
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: African


A1 Africa Sanza 00:00
A2 Bamenda 04:53
A3 Fulani 10:32
A4 Rwanda 15:40
B1 Ganvie 19:36
B2 Foumban 24:22
B3 Mopti 27:56
B4 Kapsiki

Distributed By – Sonodisc
Printed By – Offset France

Idiophone [Sanza], Flute, Percussion, Voice, Composed By, Recorded By – Francis Bebey
Liner Notes – Guillaume Bwele

A1: 2 Sanza 2 Flutes 1 Drum
A2: 2 Sanza 2 Drums
A3: 2 Sanza 1 Flute 1 Drum
A4: 2 Sanza 1 Voice 1 Percussion

B1: 2 Sanza 1 Flute 1 Drum 1 Percussion
B2: 3 Sanza
B3: 1 Sanza 1 Armpit Drum
B4: 2 Sanza 1 Armpit Drum 1 Voice

Text on cover:
‘’In the beginning there was nothing. No light, no darkness either. Nothing except boredom, which Nyambe, the Creator of the Bantu, felt rather severly. ‘’What is to be done’’ he asked Imagination one day. The answer was: ‘’Build yourself a sanza! When you start playing it, you’ll see boredom run away by itself.’’ So Nyambe built a sanza and plucked a note on the keyboard. That first musical sound ever heard came out with the sun which carried the light. Another note created man followed by his wife and numerous children who soon populated the earth. That is how all human beings, black and white, red and yellow were born of the sanza. And again today, any time you produce a sound on a sanza keyboard, a new child is born somewhere in the world’’.

Support the musicians, buy their music.



Leave a comment